There's Always Vodka

Unless I drank it all. In that case, we'll need some more.

What dreams?

Leave a comment

My entire life I have felt as if I should be doing something special. Well, what I consider special. When it came time for me to decide what to do professionally, I never really had a choice. What I wanted had absolutely nothing to do with what was expected of me. And that was to make money. A lot of money so that I could take care of my family. My way of rebelling against all that demand was to drop out of college. It was easy. Since I was paying for it, my family had no right to tell me I couldn’t. Was it a mistake? Yes. Do I regret that decision? Everyday. I have always been able to make a living, but it has been tough at times. Sometimes I think that if I had stayed in school, I would have discovered sooner what I’m really passionate about, and might have even met some people who were interested in the same things I am.

I am unemployed. It’s been two months, and I know that doesn’t compare to others out there who have been unemployed for years, but it has been stressful, nonetheless. Before I lost my job, I had sent out resumes for months; I wanted to find something closer to home. I know how hard the job market is now, and I would never have left my job¬†voluntarily without having a new job lined up. Unfortunately, that decision was made for me, and I was let go. I was replaced by a person who has half my experience, and is making half my salary.

Today I had a job interview. It’s for a low paying position with a bad schedule, but if I am offered the job, I will be eternally grateful. It will buy me some time to find a job that will pay me enough to allow me to do the things I enjoy. I don’t need to make a lot of money; I just need to make enough to be able to take a vacation every year. Preferably one with a beach, a bar, and fruity cocktails!

Author: Dolores

I'm a ninja - one that bumps into things, and curses loudly.

Okay...Fine...Leave a Reply...Or whatever...

